Haridwar district (About this sound pronunciation (help·info)) also spelled as Hardwar is a district in the state of Uttarakhand, India. It is headquartered at Haridwar which is also its largest city. The district is ringed by the districts Dehradun in the north and east, Pauri Garhwal in the east and the Uttar Pradesh districts of Muzaffarnagar and Bijnor in the south and Saharanpur in the west. A paradise for nature lovers and one of the seven holiest places of Hinduism, Haridwar presents a kaleidoscope of Indian culture and civilisation.

Haridwar district came into existence on 28 December 1988 as part of Saharanpur Divisional Commissionary,[3] On 24 September 1998 Uttar Pradesh Legislative Assembly passed the \'Uttar Pradesh Reorganisation Bill\', 1998\',[4] eventually the Parliament also passed the Indian Federal Legislation – \'Uttar Pradesh Reorganisation Act 2000\', and thus on 9 November 2000,[5] Haridwar became part of the newly formed Uttarakhand (then Uttaranchal), the 27th state in the Republic of India.

As of 2011 it is the most populous district of Uttarakhand (out of 13).[6] Important towns in the district are Haridwar, BHEL Ranipur, Roorkee, Manglaur, Dhandera, Jhabrera, Laksar, Landhaura and Mohanpur Mohammadpur.

Country India
Language Spoken English,Hindi
Currency Rupee
Visa requirment no visa required